alright. sorry for the day with no music. i pulled a double throwdown. yes, that's right. a double! the other night was myself and jamor throwin' down. last night everyone came home. so, myself, marianyi, ippy, and chris took to the town. unfortunately, i didn't have my camera with me. but we started it off as any sane human being would....jimmy john's under 2 east 8th street. the only way to begin anything you do. so we stopped at a few stores. ultimately, i picked up an M-Audio D/A interface for my "studio" if you will. For those of you who are thinking "uhhhh..." let me help you. It's basically a box that allows me to connect things, such as a guitar, to my computer. Trust me, when you are like me, that is actually something exciting. So, we all came back, and I grilled up some steaks on the George Foreman for myself, Ipsen, and Harris. Then the four of us took to the hot tub. The only way to wind down the night. Except, we were missing one activity. So, at 1 am, we ordered a pizza from Chicago pizza. oh yea, that's right. we did. so that's that. okay. now for a taste of melodic sex in your ears.
so last night, on our walk, we stopped into old navy. there was a bin of futbols. or soccer balls, whatever prefer. so, alex and harris asked if i thought we'd get thrown out for starting a soccer game in the middle of old navy....that brings me to my video. oddly enough. it's kings of convenience. the song is called misread. the video is amazing, and the music is just right. its got this mix of like a mediterranean sort of acoustic, jazzy, beach, classical, pop feel. it's easier if you just watch the damn video. i will definitely do what this singer is doing in the video many times in my life hopefully. the lyrics describe about the first 16 years of my battle with finding a common ground with "love." very interesting stuff. reminds me of days gone by.
this...well this is just bad ass.
this next video is for a song called samson. probably one of the most beautiful songs i know. you may know regina spektor from her song "fidelity," which is also very cool. but this song, this song is just amazing. the lyrics, if you think about them, are extremely poignant. i can't even begin to count the many ways this song could describe my life...
this is one of my favorite groups around right now. they are one of the few that make albums that i can listen to all the way through without finding one song i don't like. so, i thought i would share one of their great songs with you. the song is called world spins madly on. it's a song that i have felt synonymous with lately. maybe it'll pass. but for now, it keeps me in the right mind. keeps me humble. it reminds me that i don't have it all figured out yet. so check it out.
oh and by the way, this is an amateur video. there is no official music video. and let me just say, as a student from columbia and having my limited knowledge of video editing and filming, i think this is just great.
ok. that's what i'm bringing on the music front for the day. tomorrow starts a new semester. i gotta say, as odd as this may sound, i'm feeling homesick. 2501 doesn't feel so much like home without fouad and ibrahim. now, i just have a very loud, most of the time, half naked roommate. although he's a good guy, and i talk to him and have known him, it's not the same. maybe this will be good for me. but regardless, i still wish i had that immanent feeling of home. so, for now, i am off to bed. i go to the MIDI studio at 9 a.m. should be exciting to see if i am able to wake up. til then...
Sunday, January 27, 2008
simply music. (lot of animation too)
Posted by
Ahmed
at
7:36 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Good things come to those who are patient. 1st Video! & Mrs/Ms. Regina Spektor is freakin' amazing!
Bummer about your "very loud, most of the time, half naked roommate." I had a roommate like that, but he was a really cool guy. :)
Post a Comment